The new Tumblr update sucks. So I quit being a user.
As you have probably noticed from the webpage you're on, this is not some basic blog update that I usually write when something is going on in my life, this a full on article about why I'm sick of tumblr and why I am fully pivoting to my own website and making this my one and only place for people to find me or anything that relates to me.
If you're unfamiliar with what's going on- here's a little breakdown of what's currently going on, on tumblr.
They have released a new update which inherently changes the way that reblogs work, and the change is such a horrible one that it practically defeats the purpose of the entire tumblr blogging culture.
How reblogs worked before:
If you really liked a post someone else made, you could "reblog" it. This basically added it to your own tumblr blog in the form of a post, that people following you would see on their dashboard. If your followers liked that post, replied to it, or reblogged it...those interactions would go to the OP's notifications, and be added as a "note" to the original post. So, the OP would see every like, every comment, every addition, and would know exactly what people were saying on their post, could see people talking to each other, @ing each other, reblogging each other's additions, etc.
This is how tumblr has always worked, and it has made some of the most iconic and well known posts on the website. Those iconic and well known posts could not exist if this was not exactly how reblogs worked.
How reblogs work now, after the update:
Lets say you post some artwork on tumblr. It's of a cat. Someone very popular on tumblr reblogs your cat artwork, and says in their reblog "Cute kitty!" Every follower of the popular tumblr user then likes, replies and reblogs your artwork! Cool, right? Your post just reached a bigger audience. Except...when the popular tumblr user said "Cute kitty!" in their reblog, it created a NEW POST. And any likes, replies, reblogs of that specific version of the post now gets attributed to the person who said "Cute kitty!" and not YOU, the person who MADE the art in the first place. And more importantly? You dont' get any notifications that your post has blown up. Your ORIGINAL POST stays at 20 notes, whereas the "Cute kitty!" addition gets all the thousands of notes. And if someone adds another addition ontop of "Cute kitty!" ? That becomes its own post...and so on and so forth. You can see how this could be an issue for someone whose art suddenly gets big- they can't actually track HOW big it is, what people are saying, etc.
This could be disastrous if used for harrassment, because it means that someone could say something mean to you in a reblog, and then that new reblog becomes its OWN post, where people can just dogpile onto that specific post and also be mean to you...and you won't even know it, especially if that person BLOCKS YOU. Now with the person who has harrassed you deciding to block you, you have a version of your post you can't even see where everyone is making fun of you, and you can't do anything about it.
And this isn't just speculation based on tumblr's official post that they made about the update: people have already tested this with their own accounts and posts- and they don't get to see all of the notes that actually exist on their post.
Almost all other updates that tumblr has made have usually been able to be circumnavigated in some way using plugins or revanced apps- that's how I managed to continue using tumblr after so many horrible updates- I could just reverse it or bypass it. But this is a bit more of a deeper change into how tumblr functions as a website, and I'm not entirely sure that it can be bypassed with x-kit or anything else...so I'm calling it quits. For realsies.
Usually in the past I've been like "fuck tumblr i'm leaving" and then...came back a week later. But this is such a deeply terrible change to the way the website works that I just can't keep justifying staying on the website.
Tumblr, as you've probably seen from this piece that I wrote a while ago, has been something of a...white echo chamber. I've dealt with harrassment and racist white people on there for way too long- having to have my blog locked down so people can't send me anons or regular asks, or people who aren't my followers can't reply to my posts, purely for my own safety and wellbeing. The times I forgot I have anon turned on, some cunt has some bullshit to say to me. And over the past year I've seen people be increasingly horrifically racist and awful to other Black and Indigenious bloggers on tumblr, that I just no longer want to be on a place like that anymore. I'm sick of trying to create a space for myself on the queer white supremacist website as an Aboriginal person- I have a website RIGHT HERE! Which is my own space that I curate to be whatever the hell I want, and it can function however I desire! So...sayonara you weaboo shits!!!!!! I'm free!!!!!!!
All of my sideblogs are either getting turned into their own websites, or sections of this website. My old blogs will all remain up- but I'll be turning reblogs off for my art and such.
If tumblr for whatever reason decides to actually REVERT their changes (highly unlikely given their track record of keeping implementations that no one fucking liked or wanted and massively complained about), all of this shit still stands. I still have reasons to leave outside of shitty website design (the racist white echo chamber), and I think it was about time I left that fucking horrible place for good. I'm not going on some other bitch ass website that proclaims to do what tumblr used to do- I have this website already. If you want to TALK to me, I'll add a link on my about page to my discord.
