Home

Entry 8
Tuesday 12th April 2022
3:19pm

I heard a bird call today which I’d heard before, but only heard it before I started getting interested in bird identification and remembering bird calls. My mum knew it was a honeyeater of some kind, but didn’t know the exact species. She took a recording of the bird call and I used that video to help me do some research to be able to find out what this bird actually was. I essentially had to go over every single honeyeater in Australia until I finally found the bird I was looking for! It was a Yellow-tufted Honeyeater. I showed my mum what the bird looked like and she said it was definitely similar to what she saw (she only saw the back end of the bird). I had a lot of fun identifying this bird, and I like solving weird bird mysteries.

Just after I wrote the above paragraph, I heard a bird call that I hadn’t really heard before, but I could actually see the bird in a tree not too far from my house. I got out the binoculars and saw that it was a Rainbow Lorikeet. The sounds it made weren’t too dissimilar from the other sounds it makes, I just don’t think I’ve really paid attention to the Lorikeets sounds before until now.

Back