Home

Entry 043
Sunday 20th August 2023
2:13pm

I am currently outside by the creek near the place I usually walk by when I go for walks. I went outside just to bird watch and relax, and I’ve seen a bunch of birds that are common, like Little Corellas, Crows, Magpies etc., but I really just wanted to see some ducks, which I did! I saw four of them near the small bridge with the “no horses” sign near it, and I then saw a larger group of them further down stream. I was also mesmerised by a pair of dragonflies, which I know are not birds, but I still think they were cool enough to mention here. I got “swooped” by them, but it was not on purpose, as I think they were chasing each other around trying to mate.

Right now, as I write this, I sit under a tree in solitude, with an Eastern Rosella quietly chatting above me. Just a few minutes ago I saw some type of egret fly in and start hunting near the water. I do not know the exact species, but I will figure that out when I get home. I took a bunch of photos and videos of it, so that should help me. Mum will most likely know what kind of bird it is. I will write down here, though, that the bird was grey in colour, with white on its face, yellow legs and a dark coloured beak. I will go home now as it is getting a bit windy. I had fun today. It was quiet and peaceful.

Update from after I came home: The bird I saw was apparently a White Faced Heron. Apparently there’s only two that live in the local area, a male and a female breeding pair. The one I saw was most likely the female, according to my mum.

Back