Home

Entry 40
Saturday 27th May 2023
1:55pm

Today I saw two species of birds that I haven’t seen before until now. One bird was very plain looking, around the size of a Yellow-faced Honeyeater, with basic grey and brown colouration. It was so plain and “boring” looking that identifying it is very hard. My mum thinks it could be a Brown Honeyeater, but the bird that I saw had a shorter beak and more toned down colours.

The second bird that I saw was much more distinctive. It was a very small bird (there were at least three of them together) with a bright red face and butt. My mum immediately identified it a a Red-browed Finch. It is the exact bird that I saw, and it is so beautiful that I must draw it.

Pencil drawing of a Red-browed Finch sitting on a branch. It has a grey underside and brown wings, with bright red feathers on it's face and butt. It has a bright red beak.

A Red-browed Finch

Back