Home

Entry 30
Tuesday 2nd August 2022
9:09am

Yesterday my mum showed me a video that she had taken of a bird species I hadn’t seen or heard before, but that she was actually familiar with. The sounds of the flock of birds was sorta similar to the sounds of the Little Corella, but a bit different, and these birds were no bigger than a sparrow. Mum said it was a type of finch, and mentioned a few species it was likely to be, and I searched for the sounds of said species of finch until I figured out that it was a Double-barred Finch! I’ve never actually seen a native finch before, so it’s super cool to know that they’re around! I also really want to draw one, as their feather patterns and colours are beautiful.

Pencil drawing of a Double-barred Finch perched on a branch. It has a white face and chest which becomes a cream colour on the underside. It has a line of black feathers going across it's chest, and another black line surrounding the face in a circular shape. The back of its neck is brown brindle pattern, and its wings are black with small white spots covering it.

A Double-barred Finch.

Back