Home

Entry 29
Friday 15th July 2022
12:25pm

NOTE FROM THE FUTURE: I have more recently found out that feeding honey is not good for birds, and my mum has since stopped doing so, but some of these older journal entries from 2022 will mention my mum putting out honey for the birds to eat, so please keep in mind that this is no longer something that my mum does.

I was very tired yesterday, so I never got the opportunity to write about it until today. There were two interesting bird-related happening. The first thing was that yesterday was a complete feeding frenzy. There were multiple pairs of Rainbow Lorikeets, the entire family of Blue-face Honeyeaters (of which there were 9 or perhaps even 10, when initially I thought there were only 8!), a pair of Red Wattlebirds, and even a pair of Eastern Rosellas! There were also Magpies, but they don’t eat honey, and were simply there because of the large commotion. They were hoping for some food, though.

The second bird related thing that happened was that Jerry, my neighbours cat, killed a Crested Pigeon, and brought it inside his owners house and started eating it. The owner put the dead bird outside, which I saw. It was a fully grown adult, and I’m surprised that Jerry caught a larger bird...but pigeons are notoriously stupid, so I’m also not really that surprised about it either. I really wish Jerry’s owner would keep him inside though. It’s the only known way to prevent a cat from killing a native animal. Pretty much nothing else works. I don’t want him killing any of the other native birds.

Pencil drawing of an Eastern Rosella parrot sitting on a branch. Its whole body is extremely colourful. It has a red head white white cheeks, which then transitions through the whole rainbow as the colour goes down its belly. It has a blue tail and wing feathers, and yellow and black feathers on the back of its neck.

An Eastern Rosella

Text on top left reads: "There is a small, grey patch around the eye, which is skin, rather than feathers."

Text on bottom left reads: "I can't tell which is more colourful, the Eastern Rosella, or the Rainbow Lorikeet. Either way, both are very bright and colourful."

Text on right reads: "This is my favourite parrot, as I do not see them nearly as often as I see Rainbow Lorikeets. I also think their white cheeks are cute and unique."

Back