Home

Entry 25
Thursday 30th June 2022
6:56pm

Really not much to report, but yesterday I saw another “new” bird I hadn’t seen before. It wa a bird that was perhaps a bit smaller than a Pied Butcherbird, and it was a plain grey colour all over. My mum managed to get a video of the bird and she told me it was a Grey Shrike Thrush. Try saying that five times very quickly.


Entry 26
Tuesday 5th July 2022
12:12pm

NOTE FROM THE FUTURE: I have more recently found out that feeding honey is not good for birds, and my mum has since stopped doing so, but some of these older journal entries from 2022 will mention my mum putting out honey for the birds to eat, so please keep in mind that this is no longer something that my mum does.

Yesterday my mum put out some honey for the birds in a small container, and hung it on the plant trellis by my window. The Blue-face Honeyeaters found it early this morning and were fighting over it so loudly that it woke me up! This happened maybe 2 or 3 times. I think perhaps that putting the honey there was not such a good idea. It was very early in the morning when they woke me up.

Back