Home

Entry 18
Sunday 28th May 2022
12:25pm

Not much to say about the birds I’ve seen recently, just a few observations here and there. I’ve noticed that despite most small birds being skittish and flying away as soon as a person gets too close, the Superb Fairy Wrens are actually quite okay with people being close. However, you have to remain still and allow the birds to come up to you. I have been able to closely observe both the males and females from my window because they do not mind my presence (as long as I do not move). A female has also gotten close to my mum’s foot before when she was sitting at the front doorstep, which I got a video of. It was pretty cool.

I should also mention that I heard the Yellow-tufted Honeyeater today, as well as a few times over the past week. Despite the fact that I seem to hear it all the time, I’ve never actually seen it before. My mum has seen its backside, though. Either way, I would like to draw the bird because it is very pretty, using reference images since it seems to be so allusive in real life. I will also draw another bird too, just for fun

Pencil drawing of a Yellow-tufted Honeyeater perched on a branch. It has a mostly grey body, with some hints of yellow on its wings. It has a black patch of feathers on the side of its face, with yellow on its chest and top of its head. It has a small yellow feather sticking out of the black cheek feathers.

Image labelled as "Yellow-tufted honeyeater".


Pencil drawing of a Masked Lapwing. It has long pink legs, a white underbelly and brown wings and back. It has a yellow beak with yellow skin flaps hanging down the side of its face. It also has yellow spurs poking out of its wings.

Text on left reads: "Weird skin flaps on their face and head. I believe I drew their legs a bit too long. Woops."

Text on right reads: "Masked Lapwing, known by most people in my area as a Plover, even though it's not actually a member of the plover family. They have spurs on their wings and their noises scare me as I always associate their noises with them swooping."

Back